REVIEW: SUMMER OF THE WOLVES BY LISA WILLIAMS KLINE

Title: Summer of the Wolves
Author: Lisa Williams Kline
Genre(s): Young Adult/Tween
Language: English
Publisher: ZonderKidz
Publication date: May 2012
Format: Paperback
Pages: 248

STEPTSISTERS, YES. FRIENDS? MAYBE…

Stephanie and Diana are having a hard time adjusting to life as new stepsisters. The girls „pretend” to like each other, but it’s pretty hard considering they are complete opposites.
When their new family takes their first-ever vacation to a horse ranch in North Carolina, not even long horse-back rides in the forest can tame their tempers. Diana’s anger issues and Stephanie’s fear of everything prove disastrous, until Diana discovers the caged wolves in the deep woods. She vows to free them, and surprisingly, Stephanie agrees to help. But their actions have unforeseen consequences, and if there’s any chance to make things right, Stephanie and Diana must put their differences asside.

„I smelled the wolf now – sharp and musky. I scanned the pen and saw a shadow behind one of the bushes that might be another wolf. Probably two of the most miserable looking creatures I’d ever seen.”
– from Summer of the Wolves

First of all I would want to say that lately I was a lot into books with wolves. I don’t know why, but this animals make me want to read every story they are in it.
I didn’t know what to expect from this book. All I knew is that I won’t find any fantasy action or supernatural creatures. And I’m glad I wasn’t and it made me take a break from my usually reading.
Sister of the Wolves is the first book in the „Sisters in all Seasons” series, and it was a very nice, interesting and fun reading.
I really enjoyed the idea of telling the story from both of the girls points of views. The alternating chapters made me connect better with Diana and Stephanie and understand how both of the girls are feeling.
Norm and Lynn, decide to take their daughters in a family trip to a horse ranch in North California. But the idea of sharing their parents and now the room dosen’t make the new stepsisters very happy. Each of them is trying to find a different activity and that is because they don’t even like the same stuff.
Diana wants to ride all day long, while Stephanie wants to spend her time with Nick. And just when I thought they will never be friends something happend.
Overwall, I liked the idea of this book. It was a really fast and enjoyable reading, and I can’t wait to read the sequel „Wild Horse Spring”. I recommend you to give this book a try if you want to read a nice and realistic fiction family story.

9 păreri la “REVIEW: SUMMER OF THE WOLVES BY LISA WILLIAMS KLINE

  1. Daca este o fiction family story s-ar putea sa imi placa, recenzia ta m-a atras, din pacate nu citesc carti in engleza, poate o sa o citesc cand o sa o descopar in limba romana, in schimb imi place cartea fiindca imi da impresia ca este genul acela de roman pe care pui mana intr-o vacanta si te relaxezi. Imi plac personajele care aparent au preocupari diferite si sunt firi opuse iar la un momentdat apare acel ,,cea” care le uneste intr-o poveste captivanta! iar coperta este superba!genul de poveste cu multi cai, la o ferma la tara, cowboy etc, asa cum se vede coperta, desi din recenzia ta putem pastra doar caii si faptul ca se petrece intr-adevar undeva pe o mosie

Lasă un răspuns

